Tradescantia Zebrina .:. The Wandering Jew

Icon

tales and opinions of the wandering Jew

Deceased.

Finding out that someone has passed away by seeing “deceased” on mail returned to work, is not the best way.

She was an amazing woman; I saw her weekly for almost ten years when I volunteered at the LBH&H (Vancouver’s Jewish old folks home). She asked to be my “West Coast Bubbe” (my paternal grandmother died a couple years after I met her; my remaining two bubbes were in Montreal and Florida). She was one of the small group of women who decided that I could not fully live life without learning to play a wicked game of bridge; they wouldn’t let me go home after my volunteer shift ended until I’d played a full couple hours’ with them. She had wonderful stories, a big smile, and gave great hugs.

I know she lived a long, happy life… And that she’s missed by many loved ones.

Filed under: friends, seasons

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

