Tradescantia Zebrina .:. The Wandering Jew

Icon

tales and opinions of the wandering Jew

TGIS

Thanks Goodness It’s Shabbat!

After such a long week, and too little sleep, I decided Thursday night (pre-Shabbat, if you will), would be relaxing and fun. Alas, I overestimated my energy reserves.

phoebus allowed me to indulge my meat craving by going up to Snowdon with me, where I took him to Le Grill for some mediocre glatt kosher meat. I had a steak sandwich, with, I think, was the first red meat for me since the goose at Christmas. Following dinner, we hit the Snowdon (metro station) Metro (grocery store). More specifically, we hit their ample kosher section. I walked away with more barley (why am I eating so much barley of late?) and some stewing veal.

I gave up on going out dancing – the meat caused fatigue and a headache – and called it an early night instead.

Today, I battled the winds on my quest to purchase kitchen gear for meat. Since I was going to cook meat, it meant I needed a new pot, knife, cutting board, utensils, bowls, etc. Thank goodness for Benix (cast iron Dutch oven for $30) and Dollarama (everything else for $10)!

I spent the afternoon cooking a veal stew and a vegetable stew. (Since I wasn’t sure if vegetarians were joining me for Shabbat dinner or not.) The stews aren’t done yet, but tasting them… Yum! I’ll share the recipes behind the cut.

Veal Stew:
1/2 cup olive oil
3 pounds veal shoulder, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup flour
2 cups chopped onions
2 cup chopped carrots
3 cloves chopped garlic
*Seasoning – see below
1 bottle of beer
6 cups stock (I used chicken, but I’m sure beef or other meats would work too)
2 cups mushrooms, halved
2 large potatoes, scrubbed and cubed
1 cup corn (I used a can of sweet corn)
1/4 cup parsley

In a large stock pot, or Dutch oven, over medium heat, add the olive oil. Season the veal with salt and pepper. Dredge the veal in the flour, coating each side completely. When the oil is hot, brown the veal for 2 to 3 minutes on each side, or until very brown on all sides. Remove the veal and set aside. Add the onions to the pan and season with salt and pepper. Saute for 2 minutes. Add the carrots and continue to saute for 1 minute. Stir in the garlic and seasoning. Cook for 1 minute. Add the beer to the pan, scrapping the bottom and sides to loosen the browned particles. Add the stock. Bring the liquid up to a boil and reduce the heat to medium low. Add the veal and simmer for 1-2 hours. Add to the pot the mushrooms, potatoes, corn and parsley, and continue to cook for 1 hour or until the sauce is stew-like and the meat is tender.

(At this point, I’m debating making a crust-lid for the stew, since it’s a little liquidy. [The other option would be for you to add less stock than I suggest and/or add some starch to thicken it.] If a crust is made, I’ll combine 2 cups flour with a pinch of salt. Add 3/4 cup shortening and work it in until it’s crumby. Add 3-4 tablespoons of water, slowly, until I can work the dough into a smooth ball. Chill it for 30 mins, wrapped in plastic wrap, in the fridge. Roll it out on a floured surface. Put it over the top of the Dutch oven (minus the lid, obviously), and brush with an egg wash (1 egg mixed with 1 tablespoon water). Cut a few slits for steam to escape. Bake at 375F until it’s golden brown.)

*Seasoning. I used Trader Joe’s “21 Seasoning Salute” as it had the dozen herbs and spices I was going to throw in, plus a bunch more that sounded good. If you don’t have it, you’ll want to throw the following into your stew: parsley, basil, bay leaf, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, mustard, coriander, powdered garlic, celery seed, lemon salt. (Seriously, if you can get to Trader Joe’s, I highly recommend this product.)

Vegetable Stew
1/4 cup oil
2 cups chopped onion
2 cups chopped carrots
1 large leek, chopped
Salt
Pepper
*Seasoning – see above seasoning note
6 cups vegetable stock
3 large potatoes, scrubbed and cubed
3 cups mushrooms, halved
2 cups grape tomatoes
2 cups uncooked barley

In a large stock pot, or Dutch oven, over medium heat, add the olive oil. Add the onions to the pan and season with salt and pepper. Saute for 2 minutes. Add the carrots and continue to saute for 1 minute. Stir in the leeks and seasoning. Cook for 1 minute. Add the stock. Bring the liquid up to a boil and reduce the heat to medium low. Add to the pot the mushrooms, potatoes, and tomatoes. Rinse the barley, then add it too. Cook for 1-2 hours, stirring occasionally.

Now to light the candles, eat, and relax…. Nice….

Filed under: friends, good eats, judaism, recipes

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

