Tradescantia Zebrina .:. The Wandering Jew

Icon

tales and opinions of the wandering Jew

Limmd – the difficult return

The rest of the weekend at LimmudNY was great, though exhausting. Unlike last year, when I read the schedule thoroughly, circled all the seasons I planned to attend, then ran from one to the next, seldom skipping a workshop time block, this year I approached the conference quite differently. I briefly perused the schedule prior to leaving for the conference, but once at the conference I made up my mind on the fly. This resulted in seeing sessions I probably wouldn’t have otherwise, but also taking a lot of time off to hang out, have great conversations, and relax and obsorb what I had learned in the previous session. So, while I didn’t go to nearly as many sessions as last year, I feel like I retained more learning, information, and knowledge. Some of the teachers whom I would love to learn more from, included Rabbi Art Green, Reb Mimi Feigelson, David Solomon, and Irving (Yitz) Greenberg. … The key is to live in Boston or NY so I can have more opportunities.

Unfortunately, the calm contentment from the weekend was ruined whilst driving home. I started off really low-energy, though the Starbucks at the rest area, and the two Jon Stewart live comedy shows on my iPod helped with that. But, even one_in_progress‘s company couldn’t keep my in the proper mindset as the weather turned treacherous. From Catskill through Saratoga-ish, the roads were icy and the sleet was coming down, mixed with rain. There were many felled trees on the highway, and cars in ditches. Finishing the drive through the Adirondacks, the roads still had ice, but now snow too. The rental car did not come with snowtires, as I quickly figured out, as we slid and and skidded along I-87. Not fun. In Quebec, just after the Champlain bridge, we fully lost control and fishtailed across all three lanes, spun around, and finally came to a stop centimetres from the concrete highway barrier, facing backwards, in the centre lane. Oh so very luckily, we were one of the few cars on the road, and none were near us when this happened. Also luckily, I remembered just in time that I was driving an automatic and not a standard, and stopped myself from attempting to switch gears (I learned all my winter driving maneuvers in a stickshift, so that was my instinct). I managed to pull a u-y and resume driving, facing the proper direction, before the next car in the distant traffic flow got to us. Reflecting on it, I’m doubly thankful that OIP and I were not hurt, that there weren’t other cars there at that moment with passengers that could have been hurt too, and that we were able to drive away from it easily. Baruch Ha’Shem! After dropping OIP at her home, I returned the car and and spoke to the staff about the car’s tires. She didn’t care at all. Nice. So that kinda ruined my happy mood from the conference, but I’m trying hard to relax, calm down, and go back to a “happy place.”

I hope everyone else had a safe journey home!

Filed under: limmud, seasons, travels

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

