Tradescantia Zebrina .:. The Wandering Jew

Icon

tales and opinions of the wandering Jew

"I love sweaty basketball players."

Whilst procrastinating on the writing of a paper, I started catching up on my blog reading. And, much to my amusement, I found a chain of events starting with John Amaechi’s public coming out.

A few days later, Tim Hardaway gave a radio interview, during which he was asked how he’d deal with having a gay teammate. He replied,

“First of all, I wouldn’t want him on my team. And second of all, if he was on my team, I would, you know, really distance myself from him because, uh, I don’t think that’s right. And you know I don’t think he should be in the locker room while we’re in the locker room. I wouldn’t even be a part of that.””You know, I hate gay people, so I let it be known.”

“I don’t like gay people and I don’t like to be around gay people. I am homophobic. I don’t like it. It shouldn’t be in the world or in the United States.”

Wow. There was all sorts of buzz around that, he was reprimanded by the NBA, etc.

But the best response was courtesy of last week’s Jimmy Kimmel show.

Star Trek Actor’s Satirical Response to Tim “I Hate Gay People” HardawayWhen former NBA star Tim Hardaway was asked about the recent coming out of another former player, John Amaechi, he replied: “I hate gay people… let it be known I don’t like gay people. I’m homophobic.”

After losing an endorsement, being scratched from events, and basically getting his ass chewed out by gay and lesbian groups he admitted that he shouldn’t have used the word “hate,” that his remarks were “very bad.”

That has all the sincerity of a Mel Gibson apology.

Well, on the Jimmy Kimmel show this week, Star Trek’s George Takei (Mr. Sulu), a gay man and a human being, responds with a hysterical and bold promise…

Filed under: politics, queers, random, teevee/movies, wtf?

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

