Tradescantia Zebrina .:. The Wandering Jew

Icon

tales and opinions of the wandering Jew

War and Peace

It’s really peculiar living somewhere that has an ongoing conflict raging in the background. I don’t see it in my daily wanderings, yet sometime yesterday, perhaps as I sat in a cafe with EKO, or wandered Ben Yehuda negotiating cell phone plans, an Israeli air strike killed five people. And possibly while I was sitting in yet another cafe, supping with a few friends, Palestinians fired two Qassam rockets into the Negev region, hitting a preschool or kindergarden (no one was killed).

This strikes me as being utterly surreal. It’s happening within a couple hours’ drive of where I am, yet I don’t know it’s happening until I read the news the next morning. As long as I can remember, I’ve read of wars in the newspapers, seen pictures and video clips on the televised news… wars from far away places. I’ve never lived close to a war; we’re friendly and polite peace-keeping Canadians, after all! So I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around being in a place where fighting is happening on the periphery. Close enough to be real, far enough away not to effect me. … But that’s something that I struggle with as well: the “life goes on” mentality, that no one stops to care about the ongoing conflicts, until a bomb goes off in their own neighbourhood.

Filed under: israel, palestine, war, wtf?

Leave a Reply

Archives

Pages

